Standards Program History

Standards Program History

The ECM Standards Program has a long and illustrious history. The program began developing standards in the early 1960s as a subcommittee of the American Library Association. After gaining experience in developing standards, AIIM became an ANSI accredited standards development organization March 15, 1985, a role they held through December 31, 2017. The initial focus of the Standards Program was on micrographic technology. This focus continued until approximately 1988 when digital imaging was introduced to the industry. The 3D PDF Consortium assumed responsibility for the program in May 2017.

The ECM Standards Program covers a wide variety of topics:

  • Electronically Stored Information (ESI)
  • Information Capture
  • Document Management
  • Content Management
  • Storage Technology
  • Records Management
  • XML
  • Trustworthy Management Environment

The 3D PDF Consortium Standards Program also has the responsibility for the development of the following PDF Standards:

  • PDF/Archive
  • PDF/Engineering
  • PDF/Universal Access
  • PDF 2.0
  • XML Forms Definition Language
  • Product Representation Compact
  • Advanced Function Presentation
  • ECMAScript
  • 3D PDF